I Finally Got a Cabinet


It’s the top brick in the pyramid of gaming addiction.

It’s the height of geekness.

Today I got a SEGA  Aero City candy cabinet. Candy cabinets are sit-down Japanese style machines – usually found in rows inside a Japanese game center.

Crazy story, I posted a “want to buy” on Craigslist – 30 seconds later I get a tip from a random dude to check out the forums over at Aracde Museum. 24 hours later I have the object of my desire.

It has the original Capcom Street Fighter II board in it currently, but after I clean it up and do a little restoration, it’s gonna be a dedicated shooter cabinet. The monitor looks FANTASTIC! I cannot believe that this thing is in as good of shape as it is. Everything works 100%. Buttons and sticks are a little grimy, and will soon be replaced, and the vinyl overlay on the control panel is old and cracked – another easy fix.

My wife is gonna move in with the bleach soon 🙂 That should take care of the 25 years of cigarette smoke that gives it a slight beige hue.

Now with the Pictures…

Leave a Reply

